Skip to main content
Cartegraph Campus

Edit GIS Integrated Data

After integration, when you edit GIS integrated Cartegraph data in Cartegraph, the Cartegraph software automatically updates the geodatabase. For this to work correctly, the ArcGIS Server URL entered in the Cartegraph GIS Integration must be active and accessible from the Cartegraph Application Server. If the ArcGIS Server goes offline, you may get error messages while editing in Cartegraph. If a record’s geometry is complex and the integration is two-way, such as a line with breaks or a polygon with holes or multiple parts, you cannot edit the geometry in Cartegraph. Instead, edit these features in ArcMap, and the changes automatically sync to Cartegraph.

Edit Data in ArcGIS

In a two-way integration, when you edit an integrated feature class in ArcMap, the Cartegraph Add-in automatically updates the Cartegraph database with your changes. If you do not install or activate the add-in, your ArcMap changes will not display in Cartegraph until the next scheduled background sync, discussed below.

With the Cartegraph Add-in active, when you Start Editing in ArcMap, the add-in checks if the feature classes you are editing are integrated. If yes, it confirms it has access to Cartegraph and displays a warning if not. If Cartegraph is not active, you can still edit the GIS data, but it won’t be synchronized with Cartegraph until the next background sync.

Once you make your edits and Save or End Editing, the add-in notifies Cartegraph of the changes, and Cartegraph immediately synchronizes its database with GIS.

If the integration uses ArcGIS Server for Windows:

  • Updates are immediate with the Cartegraph ArcMap Add-in installed.
  • Run the sync in Cartegraph when the Cartegraph ArcMap Add-in is not installed.

In a One-Way integration, edits made outside of Cartegraph are ignored.

In a Two-Way integration, GIS edits made to fields that are Cartegraph Locked Value Fields are ignored.

Splits and Copies

In ArcMap, if you copy or paste to duplicate a feature, or if you split a feature into pieces with an ArcMap editing tool, the result is several features with duplicated Cartegraph IDs.  In a two-way integration, the map engine identifies which feature was the original, and maintains its link with the original Cartegraph record. For new features, the map engine duplicates the Cartegraph record and automatically assigns the duplicates new Cartegraph IDs. The map engine accomplishes this with the Cartegraph Duplicate command, which duplicates all the record’s field values. It does not duplicate any child data like Tasks, Inspections, or Attached Files.  In a One-way integration, the newest of the records will be deleted, preserving the original record. In a One-Way integration, all edits are expected to be made in Cartegraph.

Merges

If you merge, or combine, two or more features in ArcMap, the effect is to delete all but one of their Cartegraph IDs. In a two-way integration, the map engine maintains the Cartegraph record of the final merged feature, but retires the Cartegraph records for the merged features. In a One-way integration, the removed record will be added back to the feature class so that the result is a copy of what exists in Cartegraph. In a One-Way integration, all edits are expected to be made in Cartegraph.

NOTE: The map engine does not attempt to combine the Cartegraph records involved.

 

  • Was this article helpful?