Layers are the entry point to viewing and analyzing operational data across the entire Cartegraph system. Utilizing a well-built layer that contains the right filter can make all the difference in how easy it is to find and visualize your data. Knowing this, we have added functionality for layers to be saved, shared, and managed in one convenient spot.
The ability to save and share layers was something you, our users, expressed the need for. Your votes even catapulted it to the most voted idea on the Cartegraph Ideas portal. We heard your suggestions and have directly leveraged that feedback to take layers to the next level.
Any new or existing layer can be saved in Cartegraph, allowing you to quickly retrieve a frequently used layer without having to recreate the layer and corresponding filter. Being able to save the layer also makes it possible to only retrieve your data when you need it. You will no longer need to overcrowd your layer panel with rarely needed, disabled layers; adding a saved layer is only a simple search and click away.
Have you ever had a layer that someone else in your organization could find value in? Many organizations let us know that the answer is a resounding YES. Layers can be shared with any Cartegraph user or role. This allows for seamless data sharing across your organization and eliminates the need to recreate the same layer twice.
You can also favorite the layers you use most often. Favorite any layers that you personally have created or ones that have been shared with you or your role. Your favorites will always show at the top of the list and provide quick access to the data that matters to you most.
You might be thinking that this all sounds great, but how am I going to manage it? Don’t worry—we have you covered. With the manage layers feature, Cartegraph administrators can globally view, edit, share, or remove any layers from one, easy-to-use interface located next to your layer selection.
So, what are you waiting for? Start saving and sharing layers today!