The Advanced Report Designer could stay active for up to eight hours. Even if your Cartegraph OMS session has timed out due to the Cartegraph OMS timeout setting, the designer should still be active, up to eight hours.
If IIS restarts or the app pool recycles on the web server, the designer will lose connection. An error message may display, "Cannot Save Project."
It is strongly recommended that you save frequently in the designer and refresh the report in the Viewer to verify the changes were saved.
Whenever the designer has lost its connection, our suggestion is:
- Open another Report Designer from the same location in OMS, by creating a report or editing the one you are on.
- Copy the contents of the unsaved designer (Ctrl A) and paste into the new designer.
- Save in the new designer.
- If you created a new report, remember you will have two reports with different names, and you should delete the previous one.
NOTE: Cartegraph recommends closing the Report Designer when not in use.